19
Feb
12

There Will Be Eggs

My fellow babies, I’m smitten with Smitten Kitchen. This morning I was making my usual steel cut oats for breakfast and surfing my bookmarks for dinner ideas. I came upon Smitten Kitchen’s romaine pesto and egg stuffed tomatoes and decided to put the oatmeal into the fridge for tomorrow.

I had everything on hand except the tomatoes. As an alternative I baked them in custard cups (see Bittman’s recipe).

Let me tell you babies, this was amazing! The baked egg yolks were perfectly runny, the whites firm, all sitting on an almost-souffle-like bed of brightly flavored greens.

And to tell the truth…my parsley and lettuce were on their way out and needed to be used up. This recipe is a great use of those just-turning-the-corner greens that are a little too brown to be appetizing on their own.

I am going to use up the rest of this pesto to make something good for dinner. It would be great on pasta or mixed into a rice or lentil salad, or on top of a perfectly cooked piece of fish.

0 Responses to “There Will Be Eggs”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Copyright Information

All images on Daily Devil are copyrighted by the author. See my About page for contact information if you would like to use/purchase an image. Thank you.
February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 60 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 17,092 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

