24
Oct
10

my grandpa’s road

This year marks the 75th anniversary of the opening of BRP. My Grandpa was a superintendent for the federal government’s highway department during the construction of the Blue Ridge Parkway. He was stationed in Virginia and oversaw its construction (whether he was the sole supervisor or one of many, that is still a bit of a mystery). Every time I would visit Grandpa he would ask if I traveled “his road” and every time I would try to travel at least part of it so I could answer “yes.” He later helped build the highways in Alaska.

I often go for drives along the BRP just to be amongst the beauty of the land, to be on Grandpa’s Road and to reflect on the great man that he was. I miss Grandpa’s voice on the phone from across the miles, I miss his birthday calls that always started with a rousing version of the Happy Birthday song. I like that I also have his road to remember him by.

3 Responses to “my grandpa’s road”


  1. 1 Pam McKinley (Rose's sister)
    February 20, 2011 at 10:18 am

    Hi Beth,
    I’m going to be taking a ride down your grandpa’s road at the end of next month. It’s on my mom’s bucket list so we are getting on in Ashville and driving for awhile on our way to Topsail Beach. (It belongs to my friend who lives in Fayetteville’s cousin and we’re getting it for free for the week) Woo Hoo. Anyway, what will be in bloom there at the end of March? I’m hoping you’re going to tell me the azaleas….
    Pam

    • February 20, 2011 at 2:33 pm

      Hi Pam! The BRP has a bloom schedule on their website. Looks like the azaleas and rhododendrons don’t show until May. But there are lots of early blooming things starting in March. I’ve never been on the southern portion of the BRP, or to Ashville, so if you find some really good things to do or places to stop, do let me know. Safe travels.


Leave a Reply

Copyright Information

All images on Daily Devil are copyrighted by the author. See my About page for contact information if you would like to use/purchase an image. Thank you.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 69 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 18,074 hits

