18
Jan
11

I will never be a size 0

<tirade> I love perusing magazines. My tastes run more towards crafts and food than fashion, but I do sneak a look at the covers at the supermarket checkout. I get so tired of the publishers telling me I’m not thin enough because I don’t have bones sticking out everywhere underneath my skin. The maddening thing is while they scream that, they also tell me to make cheesy pasta dishes with condensed soup. (Exhibit A: Women’s Day is one of the worst offenders, notice the “Love Your Heart!” and “We Lost 290 lbs!” articles while there is a nice, warm chocolate cake with recipe on the cover.)

The January/February editions are always trying to glom onto our new year’s resolutions, motivating us and making us feel guilty all at the same time. I will never be a size 0. If I keep to my goals I will be healthier this year than last. That is good enough for me. Now, how about that piece of cake.</tirade>

3 Responses to “I will never be a size 0”


  1. January 19, 2011 at 5:11 am

    Ah, this really strikes a nerve! When I was a kid (I think the term now is “tween”), I remember being fascinated with fashion magazines, in a way I recognize now as kind of anthropological. It took a couple of years before I fully understood that they I was supposed to identify with them somehow — it was a strange realization. None of those magazines have ever felt like they had anything to do with me or my actual life. Now, so many years later, I’ll just mention that I, in my dumpy hobbit body, am measurably happier and healthier than my tall, skinny colleague. She may look a lot better in her clothes, it’s true, but I wouldn’t trade lives for anything.

  2. January 19, 2011 at 6:48 am

    “Anthropological” is EXACTLY it. I never have been able to put my finger on why I look but never really connect with this part of our culture. It is just so foreign to me. I do wish, however, that we could change the images to something a little more healthy for everyone’s sake. It bothers me that our cultural fad for rail thin women is portrayed as “normal” when, looking back through history, cultural ideals of “normal” have been all over the morphological map.

    I’m hoping to live to see the day when the food science in Woody Allen’s Sleeper comes true.


Leave a Reply

Copyright Information

All images on Daily Devil are copyrighted by the author. See my About page for contact information if you would like to use/purchase an image. Thank you.
January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 69 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 18,089 hits

