31
Jan
11

too much cr@p

I’ve been on a clean-up binge lately. On my growing to-do list is the crawl space. I have a bad habit of hanging on to empty boxes and junk I don’t need, and since I have no basement or garage it all ends up under the house. This spring I’m going to tackle this space. There, I’ve said it out loud so now I have to do it.

4 Responses to “too much cr@p”


  1. January 31, 2011 at 5:12 pm

    Saying it out loud is always a good start.
    I have seen worse. Your mess it actually not so bad.

  2. January 31, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    That’s so true, the “I’ve said it out loud so now I have to do it” statement. I work that way, too.

    I have a bad habit of hanging on to a several boxes all labeled “Jane’s Junk” or “Jane – Misc.” I don’t even know what’s in them anymore; I think I should chuck them unopened.

    Brave photo, btw.

  3. January 31, 2011 at 6:39 pm

    Thanks Jane. Brave? I don’t know about that…let’s call it “behind the scenes.” Ye olde “Misc.” tag is a killer. My archives instructor said this was the all time biggest crime to commit in the archives world. So now every time I label something “Misc.” I think of Dr. Gracy in n a fond, grinning-while-thumbing-my-nose-at-authority sort of way.

    I say throw out the Misc. box without opening! If you haven’t looked at it in more than a year, it can’t be that important, right? Similar to clothes, crafts and unpublished articles. The most liberating thing I’ve thrown away is all my grad-school notes and text books. It was not easy, but once I made the decision and actually did it, I felt so much better.

  4. February 2, 2011 at 7:09 am

    @acleansurface True, it isn’t so bad but it is all about context, isn’t it? For me this pile of junk drives me crazy every time I see it. It just reminds me that I was too lazy to do something with this stuff at the time, and threw it down there and now I have to deal with it, which will inevitably take longer than if I did something with it in the first place.

    Now if I could just get someone braver than I to look into the abandoned freezer that is down there that I “inherited” with the house. I’m convinced something evil is in there and I don’t want to look.


Leave a Reply

Copyright Information

All images on Daily Devil are copyrighted by the author. See my About page for contact information if you would like to use/purchase an image. Thank you.
January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 69 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 18,089 hits

