24
Feb
11

frankenphoto

 

Our Office of Information Technology offers free classes in a variety of, well, technologies. Today I attended an introduction to Photoshop, and the student teacher was really great. This was my project. All those layers and tools, oh my!

A little while ago I took one of their classes on the Flip Cam. You can see the resulting 10 years, 10 people videos on the blog I run for work. I’m not a professional videographer, but now I can put up a video quickly and confidently. And for our blog, that is good enough.

I think one of the best things about the OIT classes is that students teach these courses. It closes the circle…we teach them, they teach us. OIT has selected some very fine instructors and assistants, and the students seem to really enjoy sharing their expertise. Thanks OIT, I look forward to my next class.

3 Responses to “frankenphoto”


  1. February 25, 2011 at 5:07 am

    That looks like fun! I wish we had a program like that — there are lots of computing “short courses” available, but the few I’ve tried were taught by a *horrible* instructor, some outside consultant type who clearly didn’t really know anything, and was relying heavily on the manual. One class I just left at the first break, an act which I still find appalling — as a some-time instructor myself, I hate that I provided immediate “feedback” in that way. I wasn’t the only one who walked out of that class, and I was even *more* appalled to find that same instructor at the front of the room in the next class I tried. Never again!

  2. February 25, 2011 at 7:52 am

    I love that picture!

    Like S., I often wish I could take advantage of some of our OIT workshops. At the moment I’m in the process of trying to update the AFS folklore & education section’s annual (online) newsletter. I learned how to use Dreamweaver years ago, and that technology has moved so far beyond my rudimentary skills–I just feel daunted by the prospect of getting caught up (or even updated to oh, say, 2007 levels). I’m tempted to take one of the workshops offered on website creation, but as you both note, sometimes the instruction is so awful it’s not even worth it.

  3. February 25, 2011 at 10:18 am

    I remember learning Dreamweaver, gads that was a lifetime ago. I am still very glad to have gone to library school when HTML coding was still popular. Now you don’t need to know HTML to make web pages, but I’ll tell you I still rely a lot on my knowledge of basic HTML to fix problems. I also still rely a lot on my HTML For Dummies book.

    I’ve had to learn Yahoo Pipes recently to create a function we wanted on one of my other blogs. I figured out enough on my own to get it to work most of the time, but now I’m thinking I need to learn MySQL or some such to get it to truly work. The thought of it makes me tired, but I do love learning new stuff like this and if pushed I’ll do it.

    OIT’s reliance on student teachers is good for everyone I think:

    A) The students learn how to instruct a variety of people, peers, instructors, librarians. Hopefully they get feedback so that they can hone their instruction skills.

    B) We get to learn from digital natives. I think it is good for all of us to realize that we are experts in our field, and often new technologies belong to the younger crowd.

    C) I get to learn from the student’s enthusiasm and how they manage to communicate to such a wide variety of learners. I suspect they have had a lot of practice teaching their parents this stuff. As a teacher myself I always learn from watching others teach (when they are good at it, and when they are bad at it).


Leave a Reply

Copyright Information

All images on Daily Devil are copyrighted by the author. See my About page for contact information if you would like to use/purchase an image. Thank you.
February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 68 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 18,082 hits

