27
Mar
11

letting go

I love teaching, and I think I’m pretty good at it. But after eight years I’ve decided to resign my adjunct position teaching library preservation at the grad school down the street. I recognized the onset of burnout last semester, and in combination with some other issues I decided it was time to let go of the class.

I admire teachers who stick with it year after year and who manage to stay fresh and excited about facing each new class. Teaching at the graduate level was a great experience and I appreciate deeply the opportunity to have done so for the past several years. Maybe some day I’ll return to the classroom, but right now I feel like a great weight has been lifted.

6 Responses to “letting go”


  1. 1 Jon Drucker
    March 27, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    That’s why sabbaticals were invented! Let go if you must, but keep it on your map for a future date.

  2. March 27, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    True Jon, but adjuncts don’t qualify for sabbaticals. Another reason to go out “winning” just in case I want to go back.

  3. 3 henryhebert
    March 27, 2011 at 8:26 pm

    Well I’m glad I was able to take your class – while the gettin’ was good!

  4. March 27, 2011 at 9:00 pm

    @Henry, thanks. A couple of my other ex-students have said the same thing. Meg and Jamie are going to team teach the class, which I think will be good for them to do.

  5. March 28, 2011 at 1:00 pm

    Good for you, Beth! I’m glad to get the whole story about this. You did the right thing. It’ll call you back if it’s meant to be.

  6. March 28, 2011 at 8:23 pm

    Thanks Rosemary, you are right, it will call back or not. I think I’m OK with it if not. I’ve proved that I’m good at it and that is enough for me (and my resume).


Leave a Reply

Copyright Information

All images on Daily Devil are copyrighted by the author. See my About page for contact information if you would like to use/purchase an image. Thank you.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 69 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 18,089 hits

