08
Jul
11

the end, thanks for tuning in

Well, today is day 365 in my picture-a-day experiment. I think I’ve accomplished what I set out to with this project, and I’ve had fun, too. I’ve met some new bloggers (Hi!), enjoyed your comments (thanks!), and posted every day (OK, I had to back-post three days but hey, that’s still a good record). The big question is, shall I continue for a second year?

8 Responses to “the end, thanks for tuning in”


  1. July 8, 2011 at 8:00 pm

    Congratulations! That’s really quite a feat. I briefly toyed with the idea of blogging every day just for the month of July, but, well, you’ve seen how that worked out. So to post every day for a year is a major, major accomplishment. I for one hope you’ll continue, but I’ll also understand if you decide to ratchet things back.

  2. 2 Kirstin
    July 8, 2011 at 10:41 pm

    I agree with Rosemary. Maybe aim for once a week? Wordless Wednesday?

  3. July 9, 2011 at 6:36 am

    I just realized yesterday that you must be about done! Congratulations!

    I can’t speak for anyone else, of course, but — now just 20+ days away from finishing my second 365 — I think it’s a gazillion times easier to take (and post) a picture a day than actually try to *write* something every day. Still, though, there are days when nothing looks interesting to me and it’s something of a chore (and I know I’ve turned in some ‘meh’ shots). I took a month off after I finished the first year, and that first day that I didn’t >have< to take a picture was such a relief.

    I've really enjoyed seeing your work, and would love to see it continue, of course — I'm with Rose and Kirstin, though; any output is good output!

  4. July 9, 2011 at 6:57 am

    Thanks for the encouraging words everyone. I would be a little saddened not to continue in some way, it feels like I have a good streak going and it certainly helps my “eye” to exercise it every day. I, too, know that not every day is a visual day and I have certainly “punted” a few images by either posting something old or looking around and trying to force something visually interesting. But overall, I think my skills have been better honed by having to do this every day. I also think I’ve been happier overall this year, and I believe this project has contributed to that because I’ve been reconnecting to something I really wanted to do my whole life…be a visual/artistic person.

    @SPines, I wonder, was it hard to get back to it after a month off? I fear that my lazy tendencies would just keep the inertia of doing nothing going and I wouldn’t pick it up again (it happens with my drawing, quilting, exercising, reading….if I don’t force myself to keep going, I just stop).

  5. July 9, 2011 at 7:00 am

    Oh, and the other thing I’ve noticed is that I’ve done a lot less beading, knitting, embroidery, sewing this year…is this taking up all my creative energy? and how do I feel about that? I don’t know…

  6. July 9, 2011 at 8:19 am

    Beth, if you committed to posting a photo a day for a year and actually *did* it, I’m not too concerned about your “lazy tendencies”! But I do understand your worries about this taking away from time for other projects. I guess the question is, do you feel like this experiment honed your photography skills as much as it’s likely to? Would another year advance them even further?

    Another thought: maybe you could refocus the blog on your overall creative output, kind of along the lines that Kirstin mentioned, with “Beading Monday,” “Knitting Wednesday,” “Photo Friday”? (“Textile Tuesday”? Ugh–I need more coffee this morning). Then the blog could motivate you in all those directions…but it still wouldn’t have to be a daily thing, nor would it have to require a knockout photo every day.

  7. July 9, 2011 at 3:05 pm

    Well, my month off serendipitously coincided with when we were moving last year, so it made it pretty easy not to think about every day — but I was still taking pictures just about every weekend out on hikes etc. When I started the second set, I might’ve even held off on assigning the official “365” tag until I was 10 days in or so; I was really just kind of interested in forcing myself to pay attention to the new place, to notice some of the details after we’d moved. I don’t have a lot of other competing creative impulses, either, which makes it easier — my only real rules are that the photo has to be taken on the day, and that I won’t post a photo I hate. Some photos are specific enough to the day that they make a kind of diary, which is fun to look back at, so that’s a benefit.

    I was just reading a thing about someone who did a project to photograph something for which she was grateful every day. I see a lot of people doing self-portrait daily photo projects, too — but I know something that thematically specific would never work for me (and not just because I don’t take self-portraits).

    What about just thinking about a “something creative every day” project? So one creative project could span days, or weeks; or some things could just be thought exercises — use the blog as a way to keep notes about where the creativity comes from every day.

  8. July 9, 2011 at 9:58 pm

    Thank you all for your thoughtful advice (I’m a little tired just thinking about the possibilities…maybe a photo a day is the easy way). I love the idea of themes or goals. When I started this project I intended to post a picture I took THAT day, but travel and intermittent internet access didn’t always allow for that, so I bent the rules when I needed to. But I tried not to post something too very old. For the most part I accomplished what I set out to without taking too many “out cards.”

    I like the idea of doing something creative every day, that would indeed be as much a challenge as a photo a day, and on days like today which didn’t lend itself to a lot of photographic vision, it could be simply sewing another strip on my bargello quilt.

    I’m feeling a strange tug between wanting to continue the project for part 2 because part 1 was so successful, feeling a little guilty for wanting to stop because I have gained so much (more practice, better photos, happiness, a small purpose for the day), and wanting to not HAVE to take a picture if it doesn’t present itself.

    Of course, I just posted one under the new tag, now I’m wondering if I should delete that. Why am I making this so complicated? Maybe a little time between starting a new one is a good idea.


Leave a Reply

Copyright Information

All images on Daily Devil are copyrighted by the author. See my About page for contact information if you would like to use/purchase an image. Thank you.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 69 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 18,100 hits

