20
Nov
11

when in doubt, bake cookies

When you are flat on your back literally, you need something to a) make you feel better, b) take your mind off everything you can’t do, and c) help you stop thinking about how long recovery will take. Since my mom can’t shove her delicious soup through the phone (seriously, when will transporter technology be available?), the next best thing to do is to bake cookies.

Pastry Studio, one of my favorite food blogs, recently posted this recipe for chocolate biscotti that I had to try. I added dried cherries to the mix since I had them on hand, and I think almonds and cherries go really well together. Next time I’m going to throw in some espresso powder because why not? I love biscotti because they last forever, thus reducing the need to share because they would otherwise go stale.

These will help me stop thinking about missing the 5K race I was supposed to run this weekend, a goal I set back in January and was one week away from completing. I think I’ll eat another cookie, and have some tea in one of my Great Aunt’s china teacups. That will make everything better.

9 Responses to “when in doubt, bake cookies”


  1. November 20, 2011 at 11:43 am

    Beth, thanks so much for your sweet mention. Your biscotti look fantastic, especially alongside your gorgeous cup of tea! It’s such a pleasure to see how these turned out for you. And thanks for the great ideas for add-ins.

  2. November 20, 2011 at 7:01 pm

    So sorry you’re missing your first 5K! Don’t give up the dream, though! Take care of your body, and put another one on your calendar soon. You’ll rock that 5K when the time is right.

    Get well soon.

  3. November 20, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    Clearly, I missed something, not being able to keep up w/blogs and Facebook the last couple of weeks–what’s all this about physical therapy and not being able to run your 5K? I’m so sorry to hear you’re out of commission–is it the same back trouble you had before? No good. But chocolate is an *excellent* remedy.

  4. November 21, 2011 at 6:21 am

    Thanks Lesley, as soon as I’m up back to normal I’ll do that. Rose, yes, re-injured my back but this time it hurt even more.

  5. November 21, 2011 at 6:53 am

    Well, crap! This photo is so wonderful and inviting, I thought for sure the story would be about a relaxing afternoon. I’m so sorry to hear it’s back trouble, instead — of all the ailments I’ve ever had, that’s the worst. I hope you’re up ‘n’ around soon!

  6. November 27, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    Oh no! Sorry to hear about your back, and I can totally relate to the disappointment of missing your 5k — just started running myself this year. This just means you have even more to look forward to when you are healed, which I hope will be very soon. Enjoy those delicious-looking biscotti in the meantime!

    • November 28, 2011 at 6:31 am

      Thanks. I guess one of the lessons the universe is teaching me (yet again) is patience. Dammit. I was doing well, then decided to do some closet cleaning over the weekend and promptly put myself back on the couch for the rest of the holiday. Up side: I didn’t get pepper sprayed at WalMart.

      The most disappointment stems from the fact that I’ll be back at square one (couch potato) when I finally get cleared to start exercising again. I hate that square.


Leave a Reply

Copyright Information

All images on Daily Devil are copyrighted by the author. See my About page for contact information if you would like to use/purchase an image. Thank you.
November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 69 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 18,074 hits

