31
Dec
11

It’s All In The Interpretation

Generally I do not need a piece of art to make sense for me to believe that it is an effective work. But I’m not sure this one is effective without its interpretive panel. What does this sculpture say to you?

5 Responses to “It’s All In The Interpretation”


  1. January 1, 2012 at 1:41 pm

    My first thought was: Guy Without Pajamas, Upon Waking (or something like that)

    • January 1, 2012 at 4:19 pm

      Right? my first thought harked back to some bad deodorant commercial (my second thought was worse…think Madonna song).

      The artist’s intent was to depict a dying silicosis victim who contracted the disease as a result of his work building the hydro electric tunnel through the mountains situated just south of this sculpture site. Over 1,000 men died working that project. I don’t know if my opinion is the one that matters, but my own interpretation did not rise to the meaningful intent of the artist.

  2. January 3, 2012 at 5:01 pm

    Yeesh! I’m totally with you on this one — my first thought was “deodorant check!” There’s still something striking about the work, though, and I do like the way the flesh has been rendered. A different pose would’ve been better.

  3. January 5, 2012 at 9:31 am

    Yeah, there does at least seem to be something very unposed about this, raw. Too gently portrayed, though, too signal pain or distress.


Leave a Reply

Copyright Information

All images on Daily Devil are copyrighted by the author. See my About page for contact information if you would like to use/purchase an image. Thank you.
December 2011
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 69 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 18,068 hits

