04
Jan
12

The Paperless Society Is A Lie

What happened to that vacation feeling? it was drowned in post-holiday paperwork.

6 Responses to “The Paperless Society Is A Lie”


  1. January 6, 2012 at 5:16 am

    We have a “paperless” initiative here, and spent untold hours developing electronic workflows to assist processes only to learn later that the staff often just print out their workflow lists. I’d be more sympathetic if it weren’t the *managers* who told them to do it that way, the very people with whom those untold hours were spent putting together the workflow designs. ~sigh~

  2. January 6, 2012 at 5:49 am

    I was at a meeting recently when our HR department said they have gone “paperless” and don’t understand why everyone else hasn’t. Then they said they purchased a desktop scanner for everyone in the department, then scan all paper documents that come to them. So a) how in the world did they get scanners for everyone, and b) simply scanning a piece of paper doesn’t make a paperless office when you file that piece of paper or shred it. Insert Straw Man here.

    At present I do not have a laptop for work so I’m often printing out documents I need for a meeting. I go in, and 9 out of 10 of the attendees have laptops and can look at the docs online. I’m there with a pencil looking like a schmoo.

    • January 6, 2012 at 6:14 am

      Oh, yeh — I’m not even talking about >meetingsnothing< about a similar initiative for the rest of us administrative types. I have a Kindle Fire, and I *could* put documents on that, I suppose; I kind of object, though, to making =yet another= personally-purchased and maintained device into a work device. A couple of my colleagues have personal iPads, and it hasn't seemed to occur to either of them to use them in meetings in a productive way; one is always flipping it around looking at her email, but that's more about disconnecting from the meeting than connecting.

      Our HR forms are largely online now, which is great, but I couldn't believe how much paper I've already generated trying to get registered for an upcoming conference. Of course, our travel policies and procedures, quite possibly, involve the most convoluted bureaucratic thinking I've ever encountered — EVER! — in nearly 16 years of university employment, so I shouldn't be surprised by some inefficiencies there.

      • January 6, 2012 at 6:16 am

        Whoops! Don’t know what happened there!

        I was trying to say: “I’m not even talking about meetings. There’s been talk about getting iPads for public-contact types (to replace their laptops),but nothing about a similar initiative for the rest of us administrative types.”

  3. January 8, 2012 at 9:27 pm

    I’m with ya on the laptop issue. It sounds like our desktops will come in handy when more of us start working on digital content, though.


Leave a Reply

Copyright Information

All images on Daily Devil are copyrighted by the author. See my About page for contact information if you would like to use/purchase an image. Thank you.
January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 68 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 18,040 hits

