05
Aug
12

Hack Your Salad

Several weeks ago I was in Ames, Iowa for a workshop and had dinner at The Cafe downtown. Since then I’ve been thinking about their Somerset Salad (PDF) and wanted to recreated it. The freeze dried corn was the conundrum, but thanks to my friend  K and her advice, I found it at Target (along with dried edamame, peas, and various fruits…the ideas are swirling in my head). The salad really wouldn’t be the same without the corn, sweet, crunchy, light, it adds a texture that rivals crunchy croutons but without the bread.

My fellow babies, this is an amazing salad. I swapped the lovely salmon of the original for a few baby potatoes (one even heart shaped!) and some slices of avocado. Instead of arugula I combined spinach and romaine and a little parsley. A quick home made buttermilk dressing finished it off. I think this is a very versatile salad. I bought some freeze dried strawberries, too, which would also be delicious. I may be eating this all week.

Leave a Reply

Copyright Information

All images on Daily Devil are copyrighted by the author. See my About page for contact information if you would like to use/purchase an image. Thank you.
August 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 69 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 18,040 hits

