26
Feb
11

Phyllis Greene, 1919-2011

I learned today that Ms. Phyllis Greene, author of Webdeb90, passed away. After learning about her on the BBC, I became a regular reader of her blog. Ms. Greene started blogging at the age of 90. She wrote frankly about her life as a Hospice patient but, contrary to what you would think, her writing was positive even when she was speaking of the hardships of aging. Before blogging she had an amazing life, one that she savored and valued and truly lived. I’ve never met Ms. Green in person, but she touched my life and many other lives out here in the blogosphere. God bless you Ms. Greene.


2 Responses to “Phyllis Greene, 1919-2011”


  1. March 3, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    Oh, thank you for introducing me to this blog, Beth–even posthumously. I love the fact that you get a warning about its “adult content” before you can read it. Is there anything more “adult” than a frank discussion of aging and the end of life?

    I wonder if she was the mother of Bob Greene, a former journalist for the Chicago Trib? Her list of Columbus’ finest foods–“Rubino’s pizza, City Barbecue, Block’s bagels”–makes me suspect she probably lived in Bexley, since I’d list all of those, too. (Rubino’s! Sigh!)

    Looking forward to reading her words.

  2. March 4, 2011 at 7:05 pm

    Yes, Bob Greene is her son. I’ve read through her whole blog and it really is amazing. I only wish she could have stuck around longer to give us her views on life at 91.


Leave a comment


Copyright Information

All images on Daily Devil are copyrighted by the author. See my About page for contact information if you would like to use/purchase an image. Thank you.
February 2011
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 78 other subscribers

Blog Stats

  • 18,700 hits